The Google +1 button is a feature that users can click to easily recommend and share Web content within their Google network. Google started rolling out the +1 button functionality in 2011.
By submitting your personal information, you agree that TechTarget and its partners may contact you regarding relevant content, products and special offers.
The button appears next to search results or on websites themselves, if website owners choose to embed it. When a user clicks the button and confirms they want to share the link, the link will show up on their +1 activity tab in their Google profile, making it easier to return to content they found interesting or useful. The +1s are also visible to anyone in their Google network, making it easier to share and recommend information.
The +1 button is similar to Facebook's "like" button, and while it may not be as widely used, it does have its benefits for Google+ users. The more Web content is shared on social networks, the higher it ranks in Google search, so the +1 button is another way that a website can improve its Google ranking and drive traffic to its content.